Monday, July 7, 2014

University of Otago

The University of Otago Clocktower Complex is a group of architecturally and historically significant buildings in the center of campus. Founded in Dunedin in 1869, the University of Otago is the oldest university in New Zealand and was created by the province's Scottish founders out of their commitment to higher education. The founders decided to build in expensive materials in an elaborate old-world style. They maintained this architectural attitude for over fifty years, resulting in an impressive group of buildings. Current enrollment at the university is over 21,000 students. The university's motto can be translated as "dare to be wise" or "have the courage to be wise."

No comments:

Post a Comment